Wilson, Nasirildeen make Bednarik watch list

Florida State senior defensive tackle Marvin Wilson and senior safety Hamsah Nasirildeen were named to the preseason Bednarik Award watch list on Monday.

The award is presented annually to the nation’s top defensive player.

Wilson, from Houston, was an All-American and first-team All-ACC performer last season despite a season-ending injury in the ninth game of the year. In those nine games, Wilson recorded 44 tackles, including 8.5 for loss with a team-high 5.0 sacks, one forced fumble, one fumble recovery, four pass breakups and two quarterback hurries. He was one of only four defensive tackles in the nation, and the only one from the ACC, with multiple 3.0 tackle-for-loss games in 2019.

Nasirildeen, from Concord, N.C., recorded 101 tackles with 2.0 tackles for loss, including 1.0 sack, three forced fumbles, two interceptions and one fumble recovery in 2019. He earned second-team All-ACC honors and was the first Seminole since 2014 with at least 100 tackles in a season. Nasirildeen has led FSU in tackles each of the past two seasons and in 2019 ranked second nationally among Power 5 defensive backs in tackles, despite missing the Sun Bowl due to injury.

The Bednarik Award has been presented since 1995 to the Defensive Player of the Year.

Monday: Bednarik Award (defensive player) – Marvin Wilson and Hamsah Nasirildeen

Tuesday: Davey O’Brien (quarterback)

Wednesday: Doak Walker (running back)

Thursday: Biletnikoff (wide receiver)

Friday: Mackey (tight end)

July 20: Jim Thorpe (defensive back) / Butkus (linebacker)

July 21: Nagurski (defensive player) / Outland (lineman)

July 22: Lou Groza (kicker) / Ray Guy (punter)

July 23: Paul Hornung (two-way player) / Wuerffel (community service)

July 24: Maxwell Award (college football player of year)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.