Weinke to be enshrined in Florida Sports HOF

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Florida State Heisman trophy winning QB and National Champion Chris Weinke has been announced as a member of the 2019 Florida Sports Hall of Fame (FSHOF) induction class announced today by Hall President Barry Smith. The Enshrinement will be held at Orlando’s Amway Center on Nov. 12.

Weinke will be the 22nd Seminole enshrined in the Florida Sports Hall of Fame. He will join:

Paul Azinger
Fred Biletnikoff
Bobby Bowden
Derrick Brooks
Lee Corso
Dave Cowens
Gene Cox
Gene Deckerhoff
Warrick Dunn
Hugh Durham
Dick Howser
Tony Romeo
Mike Martin
Perry Moss
Tom Nugent
Bill Peterson
Deion Sanders
Ron Sellers
Colleen Walker
Charlie Ward
Don Veller

Weinke became the second player from Florida State University and fifth player from a Florida school to win the coveted Heisman Trophy when he captured that award as a senior in 2000. During that season he passed for 4,100 yards and 33 touchdowns.  He also led the Seminoles to a national championship in 1999 and finished his career with 79 career touchdown passes in three seasons as a starter.

Weinke would play seven seasons in the NFL and is now the quarterbacks coach at the University of Tennessee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.