Watch list season begins: Milton nominated for Maxwell, Gainer for Bednarik

College football preseason watch lists began on Monday morning with two Florida State players among those who are recognized.

Quarterback Mckenzie Milton is among those listed for the Maxwell Award, which is presented to the top player in college football. Milton is the only two-time AAC Offensive Player of the Year in conference history, finished sixth in the Heisman Trophy vote in 2018 and eighth in 2017 as UCF’s quarterback. The Kapolei, Hawai’i, native has appeared in 33 games and is 630 of 1,020 passing for 8,683 yards and 72 touchdowns with 1,078 yards and 20 touchdowns on 280 rushing attempts.

Linebacker Amari Gainer has been named to the Bednarik Award Watch List. The Bednarik is presented to the top player in college football. Gainer has appeared in 26 games and recorded 134 tackles, including 12.0 for loss with 4.0 sacks, three forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries in his career. The redshirt sophomore from Tallahassee led FSU with 65 tackles last season and also made 5.0 for loss with 0.5 sack, one forced fumble and three quarterback hurries. His tackles production was paced by three double-digit tackle games, including a career-high 12 stops at North Carolina State.

Tuesday: Davey O’Brien Award (quarterback)

Wednesday: Doak Walker Award (running back)

Thursday: Fred Biletnikoff Award (wide receiver)

Friday: Mackey Award (tight end), Rimington award (center)

July 26: Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back), Butkus Award (linebacker)

July 27: Outland Award (interior lineman), Bronco Nagurski Trophy (defensive player)

July 28: Lou Groza Award (kicker), Ray Guy Award (punter)

July 29: Paul Hornung Award (versatile/two-way player), Danny Wuerffel Award (community service, academics)

July 30: Walter Camp Award (most outstanding player)