Tokyo-bound: Rodriguez, Conde make Spanish team

Two Florida State Women’s Basketball Alumnae in Maria Conde (Madrid, Spain) and Leonor Rodriguez (Canary Islands) have been selected to the Spanish Olympic Team, announced earlier by the Spanish Basketball Federation (Federación Española de Baloncesto). 

The upcoming Summer Olympics in Tokyo will mark Rodriguez’s second appearance in the Summer Games, as she helped her home country to its highest finish ever with a silver medal in 2016 in Rio. Conde will make her Olympic debut in Tokyo.

Conde becomes the third Seminole to earn a roster spot in the Summer Olympics, as FSU legend Leticia Romero (2014-17) joined Rodriguez on Spain’s historic team in 2016. Multiple Seminoles will be representing Spain for the second consecutive Olympics.

Conde, who played at FSU from 2015-17, is coming off a strong performance at the 2021 EuroBasket. She averaged 7.0 points, shot 50 percent from the floor (15 of 30) and also went 42.9 percent (6 of 14) from beyond the arc as Spain reached the quarterfinals. She broke through vs. Montenegro in the qualifying phase when she dropped 19 points and went 7 of 7 from the floor.

Rodriguez averaged 6.2 points in 13.9 minutes in the EuroBasket, headlined by a 15-point performance vs. Russia to end the tournament. After enjoying an All-ACC season as a senior for the Seminoles in 2013, Rodriguez has carved out a nice professional career that includes six seasons in the Euroleague.

The two former Seminoles get started on July 25, as Spain faces South Korea in Group A play at 9 p.m. EST. Spain then battles 2021 EuroBasket champion Serbia on July 29 at 4:20 a.m. ET. It finishes group play facing Canada on Saturday, July 31, at 9 p.m. ET.

Tokyo is 13 hours ahead of the U.S. Eastern Standard Time.

Spain is part of Group A along with Serbia, Canada and Korea. Group B includes Nigeria, Japan, France and the United States, and Group C has Australia, Puerto Rico, China and Belgium. The teams placed first and second in each group and the two best third placed teams will qualify for the quarterfinals.


  • vs. South Korea (July 25 at 9 p.m. ET)
  • vs. Serbia (July 29 at 4:20 a.m. ET)
  • vs. Canada (July 31 at 9 p.m. ET)