Terry, Wilson named to Maxwell Award watch list

Redshirt junior wide receiver Tamorrion Terry and senior defensive tackle Marvin Wilson were named to the Maxwell Award Watch List Friday. The award is given to the college player of the year by the Maxwell Football Club.

Terry, from Ashburn, Ga., was also named to the Biletnikoff Watch List for the best receiver. Terry enters 2020 with 95 career receptions for 1,932 yards and 17 touchdowns, ranking 15th in FSU history in both yards and touchdowns. He holds the FSU record with five career receiving touchdowns of at least 70 yards, including a career-high 91-yard score against Arizona State in the 2019 Sun Bowl.

In 2019, Terry led FSU with 60 catches for 1,188 yards and nine touchdowns while earning second-team All-ACC honors. He posted the 13th1,000-yard receiving season in program history, ranking seventh in single-season receiving yards. He led the country with 57.89 yards per touchdown catch, the highest average in the last 15 years among players with at least nine touchdowns.

Wilson, from Houston, has also been named to the watch lists for the Bednarik Award and Nagurski Trophy, given to the nation’s top defensive player, and the Outland Trophy, presented to the country’s best interior lineman. He is also part of the Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List. Wilson is a consensus Preseason All-American with first-team recognition by Phil Steele, Sporting News and Walter Camp.

He was an All-American and first-team All-ACC performer last season despite a season-ending injury in the ninth game of the year. In those nine games, Wilson recorded 44 tackles, including 8.5 for loss with a team-high 5.0 sacks, one forced fumble, one fumble recovery, four pass breakups and two quarterback hurries. He was one of only four defensive tackles in the nation, and the only one from the ACC, with multiple 3.0 tackle-for-loss games in 2019.

In his career, Wilson has started 14 of his 33 games played and compiled 93 tackles, 13.5 for loss with 8.5 sacks, seven quarterback hurries, six pass breakups, two forced fumbles and one fumble recovery. His sacks and tackles for loss totals are tops among current Seminoles.

The Maxwell Award has been presented since 1937 and will name its 84th winner in 2020. FSU quarterback Charlie Ward won the Maxwell Award in 1993, the only Seminole to take home the prize.

2020 Watch Lists
Bednarik Award (Defensive player) – Hamsah Nasirildeen, Marvin Wilson
Doak Walker Award (Running back) – Jashaun Corbin
Biletnikoff Award (Receiver) – Tamorrion Terry
Thorpe Award (Defensive back) – Hamsah Nasirildeen
Nagurski Trophy (Defensive player) – Hamsah Nasirildeen, Marvin Wilson
Outland Trophy (Interior lineman) – Marvin Wilson
Wuerffel Award (Community service) – Jaiden Lars-Woodbey
Maxwell Award (Best player) – Tamorrion Terry, Marvin Wilson

Leave a Reply