Rutz (freshman) and Niles (coach) take CCSA honors

Following a 28-4 regular-season and a No. 1 seed in this weekend’s Coastal Collegiate Sports Association (CCSA) Conference Tournament, the Florida State beach volleyball team was honored for its play as four Seminoles captured All-Conference accolades. Torrey Van Winden along with redshirt freshmen Keara Rutz and Maddie Anderson to go with head coach Brooke Niles were all recognized by the CCSA as announced by the league office on Thursday.

The duo of Van Winden and Rutz earned First Team All-Conference honors, while Rutz and Anderson were named to the All-Freshman team. Rutz was also named the CCSA Freshman of the Year and Head Coach Brooke Niles was named CCSA Coach of the year.

Torrey and Keara played all season on courts one and two for the Seminoles. The Florida State duo was a combined 28-3, including a 25-2 record on court two and a 3-1 record on court one. The pair clinched 10 matches for the Garnet and Gold and earned big win all season long, including wins over LMU, Cal Poly, LSU twice, USC and UCLA twice. In total, they earned 19 wins against ranked teams and 10 wins against teams in the top-10.

Rutz becomes the fourth Seminole to earn CCSA Freshman of the Year in just five years of the Award (Nikki Esposito – 2016; Francesca Goncalves – 2017; Kate Privett – 2019). She finished the regular season with a 28-3 record good for the second-most wins on the team. She played 27 matches on court two and four on court one. All 31 of her matches this season were alongside Torrey Van Winden.

Anderson joins Rutz on the five-person All-Freshman Team. She also has 28 wins good for second-most on the team. She went 25-4 on court three, 2-0 on court two and 1-0 on court four. She earned 18 wins over ranked teams and nine wins over teams in the top-10, including three wins over a No. 1 team in the country with one against No. 1 LSU and two against No. 1 USC.

Niles earned her second straight CCSA Coach of the Year honor. She led the team to a 28-4 finish in the regular season. Florida State was 17-1 against conference opponents with their lone loss to FIU. Niles is the Florida State beach volleyball all-time leader in wins with 163 wins. This season she earned her 50th win over a top-10 team. She earned AVCA Coach of Year honors in 2016.

FSU, the four-time defending conference champions, return to the sand this weekend in Huntsville, Ala. The top-seeded Noles will open competition against UNCW at 9:30 am ET on Friday in the first round. If the Garnet and Gold win they will play again on Saturday at 9:30 am ET against the winner of South Carolina vs. Tulane.

All matches will be held at the John Hunt Sand Volleyball Complex.

CCSA Beach Volleyball All-Conference Team

Pair of the Year: Claire Coppola & Kristen Nuss, LSU*
Freshman of the Year: Keara Rutz, Florida State
Coach of the Year: Brooke Niles, Florida State

CCSA All-Conference First Team:

Pair,                                School, Cl., Hometown

*Taryn Kloth/                     LSU, Sr., Sioux Falls, S.D.
*Kristen Nuss ^                 LSU, Sr., New Orleans, La.

Erica Brok/                        FAU, Sr., Ormond Beach, Fla.
Mackenzie Morris                FAU, Sr., Jacksonville, Fla.

Federica Frasca#/              FIU, Gr., Rome, Italy
Roberta Ribiero                  FIU, Jr., Rio de Janeiro Brazil

Torrey Van Winden/          Florida State, Gr., Napa, Calif.
Keara Rutz                            Florida State, R-Fr., San Juan Capistrano, Calif.

Daniela Alvarez/                TCU, Fr., Asturias, Spain
Tania Moreno Mateeva        TCU, Fr., Madrid Spain

*-Denotes unanimous selection
#-Denotes three-time All-Conference
^-Denotes four-time All-Conference

CCSA All-Freshman Team:

Name, School, Hometown

Keara Rutz Florida State San Juan Capistrano, Calif. 
Paige Kalkoff FIU Cincinnati, Ohio 
Maddie Anderson Florida State Palm Beach Gardens, Fla. 
Daniela Alvarez TCU Asturias, Spain 
Tania Moreno Mateeva TCU Madrid, Spain