Nasirildeen named to Thorpe Award watch list

Senior defensive back Hamsah Nasirildeen was named to the Thorpe Award Watch List released Monday, presented to the nation’s top defensive back.

Nasirildeen, from Concord, N.C., recorded 101 tackles with 2.0 tackles for loss, including 1.0 sack, three forced fumbles, two interceptions and one fumble recovery in 2019. He earned second-team All-ACC honors and was the first Seminole since 2014 with at least 100 tackles in a season. Nasirildeen has led FSU in tackles each of the past two seasons and in 2019 ranked second nationally among Power 5 defensive backs in tackles, despite missing the Sun Bowl due to injury.

Against Boston College in 2019, Nasirildeen finished with 22 tackles, the third-most in FSU history and the most for a Nole since 1968. His 22 tackles were also the most in the ACC last season and the second-highest in the NCAA. He earned three ACC Player of the Week honors.

Nasirildeen was previously named to the Bednarik Award Watch List for the nation’s top defensive player.

Presented by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame and the Jim Thorpe Association, the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award has been presented annually since 1986. Florida State has won the award twice, with Deion Sanders taking home the honor in 1988 and Terrell Buckley winning in 1991.

2020 Watch Lists
Bednarik Award (Defensive player) – Hamsah Nasirildeen, Marvin Wilson
Doak Walker Award (Running back) – Jashaun Corbin
Biletnikoff Award (Receiver) – Tamorrion Terry
Thorpe Award (Defensive back) – Hamsah Nasirildeen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.