Milton named to third preseason watch list

Florida State quarterback McKenzie Milton is on the watch list for the College Football Performance Awards National Performer of the Year Trophy, it was announced Wednesday.

Milton, who has also been named to watch lists for the Maxwell Award and Davey O’Brien Award, is a graduate transfer from UCF who led the Knights to a 27-6 record and two AAC championships, including an undefeated 2017 campaign, as a starter. He is the only two-time AAC Offensive Player of the Year in conference history, finished sixth in the Heisman Trophy vote in 2018 and eighth in 2017 and was a 2018 finalist for the Sullivan Award presented to the outstanding amateur athlete in the United States. The Kapolei, Hawai’i, native has appeared in 33 games and is 630-of-1,020 passing for 8,683 yards and 72 touchdowns with 1,078 yards and 20 touchdowns on 280 rushing attempts, for a total of 9,761 yards of total offense.

The CFPA handed out its first National Player of the Year Award in 2009, and FSU quarterback Jameis Winston earned the distinction in 2013. Recipients of the College Football Performance Awards are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.

Florida State has 10 representatives on nine national award watch lists released so far in 2021. In addition to Milton’s three watch lists, tight end Camren McDonald is on watch lists for the Mackey Award, AFCA Good Works Team and Wuerffel Trophy, while linebacker Amari Gainer is on the Bednarik Award and Butkus Award watch lists and running backs Jashaun Corbin and Lawrance Toafili are on the Doak Walker Award Watch List.