Milton named to preseason O’Brien Award watch list

Mckenzie Milton added to his list of preseason nominations on Tuesday as he was named to the Davey O’Brien Award’s watch list.

Milton is among 30 players listed for the O’Brien Award, which is presented annually to the nation’s top quarterback. He was a semifinalist for the O’Brien Award in 2017 and ’18.

The Kapolei, Hawai’i, native has appeared in 33 games and is 630 of 1,020 passing for 8,683 yards and 72 touchdowns with 1,078 yards and 20 touchdowns on 280 rushing attempts.

Following a season as UCF’s scout-team quarterback in 2020, Milton transferred to FSU and immersed himself in the playbook this spring. Some of his best practices were in late April as he had time to grasp the system.

Milton will be among the FSU players speaking to the media on Thursday as part of ACC Kickoff.

FSU has had three O’Brien Award winners: Charlie Ward in 1993 was the first Seminole to bring home the award and was followed by Chris Weinke in 2000 and Jameis Winston in 2013.

Monday: McKenzie Milton (Maxwell Award), Amari Gainer (Bednarik Award)

Tuesday: Milton (Davey O’Brien Award)

Wednesday: Doak Walker Award (running back)

Thursday: Fred Biletnikoff Award (wide receiver) 

Friday: Mackey Award (tight end), Rimington award (center)

July 26: Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back), Butkus Award (linebacker)

July 27: Outland Award (interior lineman), Bronco Nagurski Trophy (defensive player)

July 28: Lou Groza Award (kicker), Ray Guy Award (punter)

July 29: Paul Hornung Award (versatile/two-way player), Danny Wuerffel Award (community service, academics)

July 30: Walter Camp Award (most outstanding player)