Messick named to Golden Spikes watch list; Dunn picked as No. 3 starter

Florida State left-hander Parker Messick has been named to the Golden Spikes Award’s preseason watch list. Messick went 8-2 with a 3.10 ERA, striking out 126 batters and allowing just 23 walks in 90 innings in 2021.

Last spring, Messick had 13 outings with at least 5.0 innings pitched and two or fewer earned runs allowed, including 11 straight.

Messick spent the 2021 summer playing with USA Baseball’s Collegiate National Team. He is a first-team All-American, the Perfect Game Preseason Pitcher of the Year and the No. 3 overall starting pitcher from D1Baseball. Teammates Bryce Hubbart (12) and Carson Montgomery (41) are also listed on D1Baseball’s Top 150 starting pitchers list.

Messick is the presumed starter for FSU on Friday, which is Opening Day. The Seminoles will play host to James Madison at 6 p.m. (live stream on ACC Network Extra). FSU will face another Spikes nominee in Chase DeLauter, who hit .386 with six home runs and 21 RBI in 2021.

Among the notable ACC players on the preseason Golden Spikes Watch list: OF Gavin Cross (Va. Tech), 1B / LHP Caden Grice (Clemson), RHP / INF Sam Highfill, LHP Carson Palmquist (Miami), C Kevin Parada (Ga. Tech), C / UTIL Kyle Teel (Virginia), INF / C Brock Wilken (Wake).

Ross Dunn named Sunday starter

FSU will use an all lefty starting rotation. The school announced on Tuesday night that Ross Dunn will be the No. 3 starter on Sunday against JMU. Dunn was 0-0 with a 2.13 ERA in 2021.

2022 preseason Golden Spikes Award watch list

Hunter Barco; LHP; Florida; Southeastern Conference

Dylan Beavers; OF; California; Pac-12 Conference

Jordan Beck; OF; Tennessee; Southeastern Conference

Jacob Berry; INF; LSU; Southeastern Conference

Enrique Bradfield; OF; Vanderbilt; Southeastern Conference

Justin Campbell; RHP/DH; Oklahoma State; Big 12 Conference

Cam Collier; INF/RHP; Chipola; Panhandle Conference

Dylan Crews; OF; LSU; Southeastern Conference

Gavin Cross; OF; Virginia Tech; Atlantic Coast Conference

Chase DeLauter; OF/LHP; James Madison; Colonial Athletic Association

Hayden Dunhurst; C; Ole Miss; Southeastern Conference

Jud Fabian; OF; Florida; Southeastern Conference

Jacob Gonzalez; INF; Ole Miss; Southeastern Conference

Peyton Graham; INF; Oklahoma; Big 12 Conference

Elijah Green; OF; IMG Academy

Caden Grice; 1B/LHP; Clemson; Atlantic Coast Conference

Pete Hansen; LHP; Texas; Big 12 Conference

Devereaux Harrison; RHP; Long Beach State; Big West Conference

Sam Highfill; RHP/INF; NC State; Atlantic Coast Conference

Ty Hill; UTL; Jackson State; Southwestern Athletic Conference

Gabriel Hughes; RHP; Gonzaga; West Coast Conference

Termarr Johnson; INF; Mays High School

Brock Jones; OF; Stanford; Pac-12 Conference

Druw Jones; OF; Wesleyan High School

Jace Jung; INF; Texas Tech; Big 12 Conference

Austin Knight; INF; Charlotte; Conference USA

Brooks Lee; SS; Cal Poly; Big West Conference

Dylan Lesko; RHP; Buford High School

Tyler Locklear; INF; VCU; Atlantic 10 Conference

Ethan Long; INF; Arizona State; Pac-12 Conference

Nick Maldonado; RHP; Vanderbilt; Southeastern Conference

Haydn McGeary; C; Colorado Mesa; Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference

Jared McKenzie; OF; Baylor; Big 12 Conference

Sean McLain; INF; Arizona State; Pac-12 Conference

Parker Messick; LHP; Florida State; Atlantic Coast Conference

Robert Moore; INF; Arkansas; Southeastern Conference

Tre’ Morgan; 1B; LSU; Southeastern Conference

Zach Neto; RHP/INF; Campbell; Big South Conference

Carson Palmquist; LHP; Miami; Atlantic Coast Conference

Kevin Parada; C; Georgia Tech; Atlantic Coast Conference

Max Rajcic; RHP; UCLA; Pac-12 Conference

Ryan Ritter; INF; Kentucky; Southeastern Conference

Cam Schlittler; RHP; Northeastern; Colonial Athletic Association

Landon Sims; RHP; Mississippi State; Southeastern Conference

Paul Skenes; C/RHP; Air Force; Mountain West Conference

Jordan Sprinkle; INF; UC-Santa Barbara; Big West Conference

Daniel Susac; C; Arizona; Pac-12 Conference

Logan Tanner; C; Mississippi State; Southeastern Conference

Andrew Taylor; RHP; Central Michigan; Mid-American Conference

Kyle Teel; C/UTL; Virginia; Atlantic Coast Conference

Cayden Wallace; INF/OF; Arkansas; Southeastern Conference

Carson Whisenhunt; LHP; East Carolina; American Athletic Conference

Josh White; RHP; California; Pac-12 Conference

Brock Wilken; INF/C; Wake Forest; Atlantic Coast Conference

Tanner Witt; RHP; Texas; Big 12 Conference