Martin to be inducted into College Baseball HOF

The winningest coach in college baseball history and the player of the decade in the 1990s highlight the 2019 National College Baseball Hall of Fame induction class.

This year’s class, which will be inducted as a part of the College Baseball Night of Champions celebration Nov. 1-2 in Baton Rouge, La., is headlined by former Florida State coach Mike Martin, winner of 2,029 games, and Cal State Fullerton’s Mark Kotsay, a two-time All-American and winner of three national player of the year awards in 1995.

“What a fantastic class,” said Mike Gustafson, president and CEO of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame. “These guys hit all the marks as Hall of Famers and are all very deserving.”

Martin finished his career in June as the only college baseball coach at any level with 2,000 wins. In 40 years of coaching, his teams won at least 40 games every season and never failed to reach the NCAA postseason tournament. His teams advanced to the College World Series 17 times.

Also included in the class are Dave Chalk, a two-time first-team All-American at Texas; Florida A&M’s Andre Dawson, a record-setting outfielder for the Rattlers; Southern California’s Wally Hood, who posted a remarkable 21-2 record in 1948; Seminole State coach Lloyd Simmons, the winningest coach in junior college baseball history; and Ferrum College flamethrower Billy Wagner, whose strikeout records still stand in Division III.