Jones, Janikowski and Smith on College HOF ballot

The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame announced today the names on the 2021 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, including 78 players and seven coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 99 players and 33 coaches from the divisional ranks.

Three Florida State players are on the ballot and are very deserving of enshrinement: Marvin Jones, Sebastian Janikowski and Barry Smith. You can click on the links to their full career stats on Nolefan.org and a summary of their honors and stats are below:

Marvin Jones, Florida State-Linebacker: Two-time First Team All-American, earning consensus honors in 1991 and unanimous honors in 1992 … Winner of the 1992 Butkus and Lombardi awards and named the 1992 Sporting News Defensive Player of the Year … Helped Seminoles to three consecutive bowl wins and top five final rankings. … Jones recorded 369 tackles from 1990-92, surpassing 100 tackles in each season and finishing with 27 tackles for loss.

Sebastian Janikowski, Florida State-Placekicker: Two-time First Team All-American, earning consensus honors in 1998 and unanimous accolades in 1999 … Only two-time recipient of the Lou Groza Award (1998, 1999) … Helped FSU to consecutive BCS Championship appearances, winning the national title at the 2000 Sugar Bowl. … He made 66 of 83 field-goal attempts in his FSU career.

Barry Smith, Florida State-Wide Receiver: 1972 First Team All-American who led the nation in touchdown receptions (13 ) and receiving yards (1,243) his final season. He also had 69 catches that year … Owns school records for career average per reception (20.1) and most 100-yard games receiving in a season (9) … 1972 First Team All-South Independent selection. … Smith had 119 career receptions from 1970-72.

The list of FSU’s previous inductees into the college HOF is a prestigious one: Ron Sellers, Fred Biletnikoff, Charlie Ward, Ron Simmons, Deion Sanders, Derrick Brooks and Terrell Buckley. Bobby Bowden and Darrell Mudra have also been inducted as coaches.

Leave a Reply