Howell wins Honda Award

Jaelin Howell continues to be honored for her terrific senior season as she was named the Honda Sport Award winner for soccer as announced Thursday.

The Honda Sport Award has been presented annually by the Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) for the past 46 years to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA- sanctioned sports and signifies “the best of the best in collegiate athletics.”  The winner of the sport award becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2022 Honda Cup, which will be presented on June 27 at 9 pm ET.

Howell was chosen by a vote of administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools. Finalists included Mikayla Colohan (BYU), Gabby Provenzano (Rutgers) and Kelsey Turnbow (Santa Clara).

“I am honored and blessed to receive the Honda Sports Award for women’s soccer,” Howell said. “Congratulations to the other nominees, as they are amazing players and have truly impacted the game and their teams this season. A huge thank you to my past and present teammates and coaches. Without them, this wouldn’t be possible. I am proud to be a Seminole and to represent FSU.”

Howell is the second FSU soccer player to win the Honda Sport Award, and she becomes the fifth FSU student-athlete to earn the award for their sport, joining Jessica van der Linden (softball, 2003-04), Randy Givens (track and field, 1983-84) Darby Cottle (softball, 1981-82) and Natalia Kuika (2018-19).

The midfielder from Lone Tree, Colo., led her team to the 2021 NCAA National Championship and the second championship title of her career. Most recently, she earned her second straight MAC Hermann Trophy, given to the top collegiate soccer player in the country.

Howell was again named the ACC Midfielder of the Year this fall becoming the first player in conference history to earn the distinction twice and was named to her third straight All-ACC First-Team. She is also a two-time First-Team United Soccer Coaches All-American and a two-time TopDrawer Soccer Best XI First-Team.

The senior played in 90 games during her career and finished with 42 career points on 14 goals and 14 assists. She is also a member of the United States Women’s National Team (USWNT) earning two caps.

“I am thrilled for Jaelin that she has won the Honda Award,” FSU coach Mark Krikorian said. “What a great way to finish her career. She served as the captain and helped lead our team to National Championship. A couple of weeks later she was named as a two-time MAC Hermann Trophy winner and now the Honda Award. This certainly caps off an absolutely fantastic career in grand fashion.”

The CWSA, entering its 46th year, has honored the nation’s top NCAA women athletes for their superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service.  Since commencing its partnership in 1986, Honda has provided more than $3.4 million in institutional grants to the universities of the award winners and nominees to support women’s athletics programs.