Howell, Madril named Hermann Trophy semifinalists

Jaelin Howell and Emily Madril have been named MAC Hermann Trophy semifinalists as announced by the United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club on Tuesday.

Howell, the reigning MAC Hermann Trophy winner, has played in all 23 games this season, starting in 21 of them at the holding midfielder position. She has helped anchor a backline that has recorded 12 shutouts in 23 games and has only allowed 13 goals all season. Howell also made her presence known on the offensive end as she has scored two goals to go with four assists. Howell was named the ACC’s Midfielder of the Year for the second straight season and to the All-ACC First Team.

Madril has started in all 23 games this season for the Seminoles as their starting center-back. She has played in all but 19 minutes for the Garnet and Gold this season. Madril has helped lead the Seminoles defense to 12 shutouts in 23 games. The Noles have only allowed 13 goals all season, allowing just 44 shots on goal. She has also helped the Seminoles on offense, scoring three of FSU’s 65 goals this season. Madril was named to the All-ACC First Team and was named the ACC’s Defensive Player of the Year.

The coaches also announced on Tuesday the 2021 Regional Staff of the Year winners for NCAA Divisions I, II, and III men’s and women’s soccer. The Florida State Soccer staff, led by head coach Mark Krikorian, was named the Atlantic Region Staff of the year.

Krikorian and the rest of the coaching staff have led Florida State to their 12th College Cup with a 20-1-2 record. Florida State won its eighth ACC Championship in the fall with a 1-0 win over No. 1 Virginia

Howell, Madril and the Seminoles take on Rutgers on Friday at 7 p.m. in the College Cup semifinals. The game will be broadcast on ESPNU.