Gainer named to Butkus Award watch list

Florida State linebacker Amari Gainer is on the Butkus Award Watch List, it was announced Monday.

Gainer, who last week was named to the Bednarik Award Watch List, has appeared in 26 games and recorded 134 tackles, including 12.0 for loss with 4.0 sacks, three forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries in his career. The redshirt sophomore from Tallahassee led FSU with 65 tackles last season and also made 5.0 for loss with 0.5 sack, one forced fumble and three quarterback hurries. His tackles production was paced by three double-digit tackle games, including a career-high 12 stops at North Carolina State. He recorded 11 tackles with one forced fumble at No. 5 Notre Dame and also made 10 tackles, including a career-high-tying 2.5 for loss, in the season opener against Georgia Tech. Gainer has been named to the ACC Honor Roll each of the past two years.

The Butkus Award was established in 1985 to honor the best collegiate linebacker and is named after Pro Football Hall of Famer Dick Butkus. Florida State has two Butkus Award winners in its history as Paul McGowan was FSU’s first winner in 1987 and Marvin Jones brought the award back to Tallahassee in 1992.

Florida State has eight representatives on seven national award watch lists released so far in 2021. In addition to Gainer’s two watch list inclusions, quarterback McKenzie Milton is on watch lists for the Maxwell Award and the Davey O’Brien Award, while running backs Jashaun Corbin and Lawrance Toafili are on the Doak Walker Award Watch List and tight end Camren McDonald is an AFCA Good Works Team nominee and on the Mackey Award Watch List.

July 19: McKenzie Milton (Maxwell Award), Amari Gainer (Bednarik Award)

July 20: Milton (Davey O’Brien Award)

July 21: Jashaun Corbin, Lawrance Toafili (Doak Walker Award)

July 23: Camren McDonald (Mackey Award and AFCA Good Works Team)

Monday: Amari Gainer (Butkus Award)

Tuesday: Outland Award (interior lineman), Bronco Nagurski Trophy (defensive player)

Wednesday: Lou Groza Award (kicker), Ray Guy Award (punter)

Thursday: Paul Hornung Award (versatile/two-way player), Danny Wuerffel Award (community service, academics)

Friday: Walter Camp Award (most outstanding player)