FSU to open CWS against Arkansas

Florida State will open the College World Series against Arkansas on Saturday at 7 p.m. on ESPN.

The Seminoles (41-21) are part of a four-team pool with Arkansas, Texas Tech and Michigan. The CWS begins with Michigan facing Texas Tech on Saturday at 2 p.m.

It will be the first FSU-Arkansas matchup since the 2009 Tallahassee Super Regional, won in two games by the Razorbacks. FSU would play its second game on Monday, either a winner’s bracket game at night or an elimination game in the afternoon.

If FSU advances out of the double-elimination pool, the Seminoles would then play the other pool winner in a best-of-three championship series.

Vanderbilt, Louisville, Mississippi State and Auburn make up the other pool at the CWS.

FSU is making its 23rd trip to the CWS in Omaha, Neb. The event begins with two games on Saturday and follows with two more games on Sunday.

All CWS games will air on ESPN or ESPN2.


Saturday, June 15
Game 1: Texas Tech vs. Michigan, 2 p.m. (ESPN)
Game 2: Arkansas vs. Florida State, 7 p.m. (ESPN)
Sunday, June 16
Game 3: Vanderbilt vs. Louisville, 2 p.m. (ESPN)
Game 4: Mississippi State vs. Auburn, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN2)
Monday, June 17
Game 5: Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 2 p.m. (ESPN)
Game 6: Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 7 p.m. (ESPN)
Tuesday, June 18
Game 7: Loser Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4, 2 p.m. (ESPN)
Game 8: Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4, 7 p.m. (ESPN)
Wednesday, June 19
Game 9: Winner Game 5 vs. Loser Game 6, 7 p.m. (ESPN)
Thursday, June 20
Game 10: Winner Game 7 vs. Loser Game 8, 8 p.m. (ESPN2)
Friday, June 21
Game 11: Winner Game 6 vs. Winner Game 9, 2 p.m. (ESPN)
Game 12: Winner Game 8 vs. Winner Game 10, 7 p.m. (ESPN)
Saturday, June 22
Game 13, TBD vs. TBD, 2 p.m. (ESPN) Game 14 TBD vs. TBD, 7 p.m. (ESPN)
Monday, June 24
CWS Finals: Game 1, TBD vs. TBD, 7 p.m. (ESPN)
Tuesday, June 25
CWS Finals: Game 2, TBD vs. TBD, 7 p.m. (ESPN)
Wednesday, June 26
CWS Finals: Game 3*, TBD vs. TBD, 7 p.m. (ESPN)

  • – if necessary


  1. Jerry Kutz

    In the category of the obvious: Of the eight teams in Omaha six are from either the SEC or ACC.
    The Saturday 2 pm game pits the only other two teams Michigan and Texas Tech.

Leave a Reply