Butler does it: Nole inducted into Pro Football HOF

LeRoy Butler had a long wait but has finally earned enshrinement in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The former Florida State star was drafted by Green Bay and played 12 years for the Packers, making the Pro Bowl four times. Butler had 38 interceptions and 20.5 sacks from 1990-2001.

He had three interceptions and three sacks in three straight seasons, won Super Bowl XXXI and was a member of the 1990s All-Decade Team. Butler is also credited with inventing the famed Lambeau Leap, vaulting himself into the stands to celebrate a turnover or defensive touchdown.

A Jacksonville native, Butler was a three-year letterman at FSU. He played in 32 games and recorded 194 tackles, nine interceptions and three forced fumbles. In 1988, he was responsible for the “Puntrooskie” at No. 3 Clemson, gaining 78 yards on a fake punt that set up the Seminoles for a game-winning field goal in the 24-21 victory. Butler was a consensus All-American in 1989.

He was inducted into the Florida State athletics hall of fame in 2001.

Butler is the fifth Pro Football Hall of Fame selection from Florida State, joining wide receiver Fred Biletnikoff (1988), cornerback Deion Sanders (2011), linebacker Derrick Brooks (2014) and offensive tackle Walter Jones (2014).

For more on the 2022 Hall of Fame Class, click here.

FSU sports information and NFL.com contributed